U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Environmental Factor

Environmental Factor

Your Online Source for NIEHS News

December 2018

NIEHS honors years of service and commitment

Friends and family joined honorees to recognize the decades of federal service, as well as those who retired in the past year.

Pin commemorating 50 years of service Harris received this pin in recognition of 50 years of service. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Each year the NIEHS community gathers to recognize the decades of federal service given by the institute’s employees. On Nov. 20, friends and family joined honorees for a ceremony that included recognition of those who retired in the past year.

“We honor not just the years, but the commitment to the work we do,” said NIEHS Deputy Director Rick Woychik, Ph.D., who welcomed folks to the event. Woychik filled in for NIEHS and National Toxicology Program (NTP) Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., who was unable to attend.

After his opening remarks, Woychik invited NIEHS Chief of Staff Cdr. Mark Miller, Ph.D., to announce each honoree. Miller noted that this year the institute recognized a 50-year veteran of federal service.

Although Hannah Harris, a biological sciences lab technician, was not present, NTP researcher Sue Fenton, Ph.D., commended her. “She’s a remarkable woman,” said Fenton, who was recognized for 20 years as a federal scientist.

50 years — Hannah Harris.

Hannah Harris honored for 50 years of service Birnbaum personally congratulated Harris and presented her a certificate. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

40 years — Catherene Boyd, Annette Rice, Dale Sandler, Michael Snell, Molly Vallant.

Catherene Boyd receives honors for 40 years of service Woychik, right, congratulated Boyd, from the Division of Intramural Research, for 40 years of federal service. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

30 years — Cynthia Arizona, Joscie Barnes, Helena Bonner, Darlene Dixon, Jack Field, Julie Foley, Z. Charletta Fowler, Steven Herndon, Kathy Laber, Nancy Powell, Angela Sanders, Stephen Shears, Joyce Snipe, Jackie Stillwell, Mitch Williams.

Joyce Snipe receives honors for 30 years of service Snipe, left, is with the Genome Integrity and Structural Biology Laboratory. She celebrated a 30-year career with the federal government. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

20 years — Jed Bullock, Yvette Cobb, Jennifer Collins, Serena Dudek, Bonnie Earnhardt, Suzanne Fenton, Barbara Gittleman, Traci Hall, Timothy Hinton, Wanda Holliday, Michelle Hooth, Linwood Koonce, Leping Li, Versal Mason, John McLamb, John Otstot, Joan Packenham, Lars Pedersen, Juanita Roman, Toni Ward, James Williams.

John McLamb receives honors for 20 years of service The 20 years of service by McLamb, left, a commander in the Public Health Service, includes work in Liberia during the Ebola outbreak. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

10 years — Bruce Androphy, Shannon Duncan, David Fargo, Kristen Fisher, Kevin Gerrish, Hong Soon Kang, Beth Lauderdale, Hong Li, Negin Martin, Irisneia Merscher, Christine Parks, Chen Qiu, Ashley Singh, Vicki Sutherland, Suramya Waidyanatha, Melissa Wells, Meilan Zhao.

Donna Fisher (retired) and daughter Kristen Fisher (10 years of service) Donna Fisher, left, who retired from NIEHS in 2016, congratulated her daughter Kristen Fisher, right, for 10 years of service to the institute. (Photo courtesy of Kelly Lenox)

Retirees — Pamela Clark, Martha Dimes, Sally Fields, Paul Foster, Arnold Greenwell, Judy Hanson, Clyde Hasty, Sau-Shyong Hong, Laurie Johnson, Grace Kissling, Ronald Mason, RoseAnne McGee, Margaret Mooring, Ellen Moul, Audrey Pinto, Alyson Scoltock, George Tucker, Deborah Wales.

Michael Snell and Negin Martin, Ph.D.

Michael Snell, left, from the Clinical Research Branch, and Negin Martin, Ph.D., director of the Viral Vector Core Laboratory, celebrated their 40 and 10 years of service, respectively.

Back To Top