skip navigation
Environmental Factor, October 2015

Whole Issue PDF
This issue's PDF is still being created and should be available 3-5 business days after the first of the month. Please check back in a few days.

Employees’ years of service celebrated

By Ian Thomas

Robert Dutcher and Linda Birnbaum

Ten-year awardee Dutcher is a biologist with the NIEHS Macromolecular Structure Group. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Sharon Beard and Linda Birnbaum

Beard, who received a 20-year award, is an industrial hygienist with the NIEHS Worker Education and Training Program. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

  • Ezlizabeth Maull and Linda Birnbaum

    Maull, of the NTP Biomolecular Screen Branch, was recognized for 20 years of service as a toxicologist. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

  • Zhang, Yang, and Chao

    From left, Zhang, Yang, and Chao enjoy refreshments at the reception (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

  • Fred Mitchell

    40-year honoree Mitchell indulges his sweet tooth after the ceremony. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

  • John Bucher, Darryl Zeldin, Janet Hall, Sharon Evans, and Kay Tierney

    From left, John Bucher, Ph.D.; Darryl Zeldin, M.D.; Janet Hall, M.D.; Sharon Evans, and Kay Tierney were happy to serve ice cream at the reception. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

NIEHS staff gathered Sept. 16 in Rodbell Auditorium for the institute’s annual Years of Service ceremony. The event was hosted by NIEHS and National Toxicology Program (NTP) Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., and recognized 48 employees, commemorating career milestones of 10, 20, 30, and 40 years, and 14 retirees.

“As federal employees, we work directly for the American people,” said Birnbaum. “Here at NIEHS, that means funding and supporting groundbreaking research into the causes of disease and disability. It’s a big job, and it takes a very special type of person to choose it for a career.”

Assisted by NIEHS Deputy Director Richard Woychik, Ph.D., Birnbaum presented each honoree with a framed certificate noting their milestone and thanked them for their service.

In all, this year’s event recognized 850 years of Federal service. “It’s not every year that we get to celebrate this much collective experience,” noted Birnbaum. “That’s a lot of dedication, both to our institute and our mission.”

Awardees were joined afterward by colleagues, peers, and members of NIEHS leadership for a reception in the lobby.

(Ian Thomas is a public affairs specialist in the NIEHS Office of Communications and Public Liaison and a regular contributor to the Environmental Factor.)

10 Years

Karen Adelman

Susan Elmore

Paul Wade

Tracy Aiken

Kristina Filardo

Laura Wharey

Frank Chao

Richard Kwok

Gregory Whitehead

Honglei Chen

Yin Li

Pinkney Wilder

Wei Chen

Robert Oakley

Jason Williams

Donald Cook

Uduwage Perera

Jun Yang

Elizabeth Denholm

Min Shi

Dmitri Zaykin

Robert Dutcher

Ryan Snyder

Leilei Zhang


20 Years

Sharon Beard

Christine Jewell

Edward Mosley

Trisha Castranio

Stephanie London

Alyson Scoltock

John Cidlowski

Jason Malphus

Laura Watson

Julie Horton

Elizabeth Maull

Leroy Worth


30 Years

Gwen Collman

James Mastin

John Roberts

Scott Gabel

Bruce Merrick

Roeland Schaaper

Dori Germolec

David Miller

Diane Wilson


40 Years

Barbara Dietz

Fred Mitchell



Wanda Boggs

Susan Hart

Michael Resnick

Hamilton Brown

Sharon Hite

William Schrader

Adolphus Caviness, III

Robin Jones

Velvet Torain

Mary Gant

Scott Merkle

Diane Wilson

Clarence Gibson

Georgina Pagan


"Intramural papers of the ..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "NIEHS launches 2015 charity ..."
October 2015 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top