skip navigation
Internet Explorer is no longer a supported browser.

This website may not display properly with Internet Explorer. For the best experience, please use a more recent browser such as the latest versions of Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, and/or Mozilla Firefox. Thank you.

Environmental Factor, September 2014

Whole Issue PDF
This issue's PDF is still being created and should be available 3-5 business days after the first of the month. Please check back in a few days.

ONES awardee honored by Oregon State University

By Eddy Ball

Stacey Harper, Ph.D.

Prior to joining the faculty at OSU, Harper was a postdoctoral fellow in the university’s Environmental Health Sciences Center, where she was mentored by NIEHS grantee Robert Tanguay, Ph.D. (Photo courtesy of Stacey Harper)

Oregon State University (OSU) has selected NIEHS grantee Stacey Harper, Ph.D., as the recipient of its 2014 Savery Outstanding Young Faculty Award, according to an Aug. 8 announcement by Harper’s department head Craig Marcus, Ph.D.

An assistant professor of nanotoxicology in the Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology (DEMT) in the College of Agricultural Sciences, and the School of Chemical, Biological, and Environmental Engineering, Harper received an Outstanding New Environmental Scientist award in 2011.

Harper takes an integrative approach to studying the environmental, health, and safety impacts of nanotechnology. Her lab uses rapid assays to determine the toxic potential of nanomaterials, investigative tools to evaluate nanomaterial physiochemical properties, and informatics to identify the specific features of a nanomaterial that govern its environmental behavior and biological interactions.

The Savery award is presented each year to a faculty member of the OSU College of Agricultural Sciences, to recognize outstanding contributions through teaching, research, international, or extended education activities. Harper will receive the award, which includes a $1,000 cash prize and a plaque, at an Oct. 8 faculty and staff luncheon.

Former winners include two other DEMT faculty members, NIEHS grantee Staci Simonich, Ph.D., in 2006 and chemist Jennifer Field, Ph.D., in 1999.

In addition to her most recent honor, Harper was the 2012 recipient of the L.L. Stewart Faculty Scholars award, which recognizes an outstanding faculty member at OSU with $30,000 in additional research support. In 2011-2012, she served as president of the Pacific Northwest Chapter of the Society of Toxicology.

"Arizona internship program marks ..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Postdoctoral fellows use proximity ..."
September 2014 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top