skip navigation
Environmental Factor, December 2014

Whole Issue PDF
This issue's PDF is still being created and should be available 3-5 business days after the first of the month. Please check back in a few days.

NIH honors RTP staff at Office of Director Awards ceremony

By Eddy Ball

Monya Brace

Brace was co-chair of the 2013 Feds Feed Families at NIEHS. Along with co-chairs President of the American Federation of Government Employees Local 2923 Bill Jirles and Blacks In Government Research Triangle Park Chapter representative Sheila Withers, Brace oversaw the collection of more than 3,600 pounds of food and personal hygiene items for the needy. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

At its first standalone recognition ceremony for support staff Nov. 19, the National Institutes of Health Office of the Director (NIH OD) honored two NIEHS employees and five members of the NIH Office of Research Facilities staff in Research Triangle Park (RTP), North Carolina.

Representing NIH Director Francis Collins, M.D., Ph.D., NIH Principal Deputy Director Lawrence Tabak, D.D.S., Ph.D., hosted the NIH OD Awards Ceremony in Bethesda, Maryland.

After engaging in some light-hearted banter about the past year, Tabak spoke in earnest about the importance of the people who serve everyday at NIH.

“Team work is at the forefront of what the OD is all about,” Tabak told the audience. “We’re incredibly proud of all of your achievements beyond your job descriptions.”

Supporting philanthropy, science, and future expansion

NIH OD recognized members of three teams with NIEHS ties:

  • 2013 Feds Feed Families Team, in recognition of exemplary efforts in promoting the Feds Feed Families Campaign at the NIH and throughout the United States — Monya Brace, NIEHS Office of Management
  • Administrative Support Group for Stadtman Investigator Searches, for significant, outstanding administrative support of the 2010-2013 Stadtman Investigator searches — Deborah Wilson, NIEHS Office of the Scientific Director
  • The Technical Evaluation Team for the RTP Campus for selfless participation and technical excellence in technical evaluations resulting in contract awards that serve as the basis for future construction on the RTP camps — Alison Hawkins, William Hawkins, Donald Jackowski, James Stancil, and Daniel Burk, NIH Office of Research Facilities personnel stationed at NIEHS.

NIEHS Toxicology Liaison Chris Weis, Ph.D., represented NIEHS and National Toxicology Program Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., at the ceremony. Brace and Wilson were unable to attend in person, but were able to view the ceremony via webcast from Bethesda.

In an upcoming ceremony Dec. 3, NIEHS Scientific Director Darryl Zeldin, M.D., will receive a Partnership Award from the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). To be presented by NICHD Director Alan Guttmacher, M.D., the award recognizes Zeldin’s consultation during reorganization of the NICHD intramural program and the support he gave to its Scientific Director Constantine Stratakis, M.D., D.Med.Sc.

Darryl Zeldin, M.D.

Zeldin’s support for reorganization of the in-house research at NICHD included meeting with lead researchers to explain the rationale for restructuring the intramural program at NIEHS and lessons learned during the process. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Deborah Wilson

Along with her work with the Stadtman Investigator Searches, Wilson coordinates the NIH Summer Intern Program at NIEHS. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

"NIH program speaker explores ..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "NTP expands coverage of ..."
December 2014 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top