skip navigation
Environmental Factor, October 2014

Whole Issue PDF
This issue's PDF is still being created and should be available 3-5 business days after the first of the month. Please check back in a few days.

NIEHS celebrates years of service with 2014 honorees

By Ian Thomas

Chris Hunt accepting his award from Linda Birnbaum

Hunt, right, safety officer and deputy branch chief of the NIEHS Health and Safety Branch, accepts his award from Birnbaum. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Rita Jones accepting her award from Linda Birnbaum

Jones, right, is an administration specialist in the NIEHS Laboratory of Neurobiology. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Will Copeland accepting his award from Linda Birnbaum

Copeland, right, is lead researcher and chief of the NIEHS Laboratory of Molecular Genetics. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Kelly Lenox accepting her award from Linda Birnbaum

Lenox, right, is editor in chief of the Environmental Factor. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Scientists and staff from across NIEHS gathered Sept. 8 in Rodbell Auditorium for the institute’s annual Years of Service Awards ceremony. Hosted by NIEHS and National Toxicology Program Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., the event recognized 64 institute employees, commemorating career milestones of 10, 20, 30, and 40 years, as well as 14 retirees.

“As federal employees, we work directly for the American people,” said Birnbaum. “Here at NIEHS, that means maintaining a strong commitment to funding and supporting powerful research into the causes of disease. This requires a lot of hard work and dedication. But, beyond the hours, it also requires a very unique type of person to choose this as a career.”

Assisted by NIEHS Deputy Director Richard Woychik, Ph.D., Birnbaum presented each honoree with a framed certificate celebrating his or her milestone, along with a congratulatory handshake of appreciation.

At the ceremony’s conclusion, awardees were joined by colleagues, peers, and NIEHS leadership for a reception in the building 101 lobby.

Employees and their milestones

10 Years
Helen Cunny Paul Dunlap Stephanie Hicks
Brigitte Horton Hui Hu Helena Kennedy
Angela King-Herbert Kelly Lenox Joe Lyerly
Leslie Lynch Kindra Morrison Nicholas Plummer
David Resnik Andrew Rooney Mark Rubino
Shepherd Schurman Maria Sifre Thomas Sliwa
Jennifer Smith Kristina Thayer Huanchen Wang
Myra Westmoreland Vernee Wilson Michael Wyde
20 Years
Warren Casey Michele Cisco-Horton William Copeland
Michael DeVito Robin Mackar Lee Ann McCray
RoseAnne McGee Brian Moyer Terrance O’Hanlon
Donna Sullivan Vickie Walker Kathryn Woods
30 Years
Donna Baird Gordon Caviness Bradley Collins
Glenda Corniffe Rita Jones Robert London
William Long James Remington Diane Spencer
Joan Sterling    
40 Years
Deloris Anderson June Dunnick
Thomas Hardee Christopher Hunt
Beth Anderson Lutz Birnbaumer Dorothy Duke
Donald Ellis Carolyn Flowers Patricia Johnson
Larry Judd Theodore Outwater John Petranka
Richard Sloane Sharon Soward Christina Teng
Hugh Tilson Michael Waalkes  


(Ian Thomas is a public affairs specialist with the NIEHS Office of Communications and Public Liaison, and a regular contributor to the Environmental Factor.)

"Intramural papers of the ..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Future NIH administrative leaders ..."
October 2014 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top