skip navigation
Environmental Factor, October 2013

Whole Issue PDF
This issue's PDF is still being created and should be available 3-5 business days after the first of the month. Please check back in a few days.

NIEHS celebrates years of service with 2013 honorees

By Ian Thomas

Linda Birnbaum and Hye-Youn Cho

Birnbaum recognized NIEHS staff scientist Cho for her 10 years of service. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D. and Marcus Bell

Birnbaum congratulated NIEHS Management Analyst Bell, who also reached his 10 year milestone. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Charles Alden and Grace Kissling

Alden, left, and Kissling celebrated years of service with their colleagues. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Richard Woychik, Ph.D. and Edward Eddy

Woychik, left, congratulated Eddy on 30 years of federal service. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Attendees enjoying cake and punch

Following the ceremony, everyone in attendance enjoyed an opportunity for fellowship over cake and punch. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Staff from across NIEHS gathered Sept. 4 in Rodbell Auditorium for the Institute’s annual Years of Service Awards ceremony. Hosted by NIEHS and NTP Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., the event recognized a total of 48 Institute employees, commemorating career milestones of 10, 20, 30, and 40 years, as well as 18 retirees.

“As federal employees, we work directly for the American people,” explained Birnbaum. “Here at NIEHS, that means maintaining a strong commitment to funding and supporting powerful research into the causes of disease. This requires a lot of hard work and dedication. But, beyond the hours, it also requires a very unique type of person to choose this as a career.”

Aided by NIEHS Deputy Director Richard Woychik, Ph.D., Birnbaum presented each honoree with a framed certificate celebrating their milestone, as well as a congratulatory handshake of appreciation. At the conclusion of the ceremony, awardees were then joined by colleagues, peers, and various members of NIEHS leadership for a reception in the building 101 lobby.

Employees and their milestones

10 Years
Joel AbramowitzFloyd Adsit
Sukhdev BrarMarcus Bell
Michelle CampbellLysandra Castro Marquez
Hye-Youn ChoLaura DeGraff
Christopher FisherStephanie Holmgren
Katina JohnsonDavid Kinnamont
Grace KisslingHuiling Li
David MalarkeyTiwanda Masinde
Robert PetrovichNicole Reeves
Elizabeth RubenBarbara Ruffin
Erica ScappiniWilliam Schrader
Beverly Sellers-RobinsonMichael Spencer
Kristine WittVivian Young
20 Years
Elizabeth BanksHamilton Brown
William JirlesElizabeth McMillan
Jerrel Yakel 
30 Years
Charles AddenBonnie Allen
Martha BarnesJohn Bucher
Dorothy DukeEdward Eddy
Donald EllisDeborah Jones
Frederick MillerRickie Moore
Daniel MorganEllen Moul
Kathleen OchoaVictor Sutton
Christina TangMichael Waalkes
Clarice Weinberg 
40 Years
Teretha LewisRonald Mason
Carol Shreffler 
Eddy BallAlma Britton
Rajendra ChhabraJames Clark
Harold DavisJohn French
Raymond GrissomJames Huff
Robert LangenbachLawrence Lazarus
Michael LittonDona McNeil
Connie RileyWalter Rogan
Cynthia SmithEmily Starnes
Charles TateSally Tinkle

(Ian Thomas is a public affairs specialist with the NIEHS Office of Communications and Public Liaison, and a regular contributor to the Environmental Factor.)

"Intramural papers of the ..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Return to Index..."
October 2013 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top