skip navigation
Environmental Factor, March 2012

Whole Issue PDF
This issue's PDF is still being created and should be available 3-5 business days after the first of the month. Please check back in a few days.

NIEHS grantees and research associates honored by AAAS

By Eddy Ball

• Joseph Caruso, Ph.D.

Analytical chemist Caruso is founding and editorial board member of the journal Metallomics. (Photo courtesy of Joe Caruso)

Andrew Feinberg, M.D.

Oncologist Feinberg’s lab has received a Centers of Excellence in Genome Sciences (CEGS) grant award from the NIH. (Photo courtesy of Johns Hopkins University)

Stuart Lipton, M.D., Ph.D.

Neurologist Lipton also holds adjunct appointments at the University of California, San Diego, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, and The Scripps Research Institute. (Photo courtesy of the Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute)

Seven distinguished scientists with ties to NIEHS are among the 539 members of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elected as 2011 Fellows. They were officially recognized for their contributions to science and technology at the Fellows Forum Feb. 18 at the annual meeting of AAAS in Vancouver, British Columbia, with a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments.

NIEHS/NTP Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., offered her congratulations to the new fellows. “This level of recognition by your peers is an important milestone in your scientific careers,” she said. “The NIEHS community is proud to have helped support your outstanding work.”

AAAS began electing fellows in 1874, an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellow nominations may be made by the steering groups of the association's 24 sections, by the chief executive officer, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members, so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution. Each nominee must receive the approval of a majority of the steering group members.

An honor roll of NIEHS grantees and research associates

Joseph Caruso, Ph.D., of the University of Cincinnati (UC) — Caruso is being honored for distinguished contributions to the fields of trace metal analysis, speciation, and metallomics, the study of metals and metal species in biological systems, and for past service as head of the chemistry department at UC and dean of the McMicken College of Arts and Sciences.

Andrew Feinberg, M.D., of Johns Hopkins University (JHU) — Feinberg was elected for seminal contributions to our understanding of epigenetics and the role it plays in cancer and other human disease. He is the Daniel Coit Gilman Scholar and Professor of Medicine, Molecular Biology and Genetics, Oncology, and Biostatistics, as well as director of the Center for Epigenetics in the Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences at the JHU School of Medicine.

Stuart Lipton, M.D., Ph.D., of the Sanford Burnham Medical Research Institute — Lipton studies the molecular mechanisms of neurodegenerative diseases, including the role of excessive stimulation of ion channels and redox (S-nitrosylation-mediated) signaling pathways in nerve cells. His lab developed the first neuroprotective drug, memantine (Namenda®), approved for treatment of moderate to severe Alzheimer’s disease.

Jason Moore, Ph.D., of Dartmouth College — Moore’s work centers on improving the prediction, prevention, and treatment of common human diseases such as cancer, cardiovascular disease, and psychiatric disease, through the development, evaluation, and application of statistical and computational methods for genetic, genomic, and proteomic analysis.

Prakash Nagarkatti, Ph.D., of the University of South Carolina (USC) — Nagarkatti was elected for distinguished contributions in the field of immunology, specifically immune regulation, and for providing outstanding leadership as an associate dean to advance education and research. He has also made significant contributions in the field of immunotoxicology. In November 2011, he was appointed vice president for research at USC.

Fernando Pardo-Manuel de Villena, Ph.D., of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill — Pardo-Manuel de Villena was recognized for contributions in the fields of mouse genetics and genomics and the evolution of the mammalian karyotype. His laboratory studies nonrandom segregation of chromosomes during meiosis in mammals and is part of the Collaborative Cross project.

Cheryl Walker, Ph.D., of the Texas A&M Health Science Center — Walker is internationally recognized as a leader in developmental reprogramming and has been instrumental in defining this new field, which seeks to understand how environmental exposures early in life increase risk of disease in adulthood. She has shown that exposure to environmental estrogens during development reprograms the epigenome to increase expression of genes that promote tumor development in adulthood.

Prakash Nagarkatti, Ph.D.

Immunologist Nagarkatti is also director of the NIH Center of Research Excellence in Inflammatory and Autoimmune Diseases. (Photo courtesy of the University of South Carolina)

Cheryl Walker, Ph.D.

Developmental toxicologist Walker is a past president of the Society of Toxicology. (Photo courtesy of Cheryl Walker)

Jason Moore, Ph.D.

Computational geneticist Moore is also associate director for bioinformatics at the Norris-Cotton Cancer Center. (Photo courtesy of Dartmouth College)

Fernando Pardo-Manuel de Villena, Ph.D.,

Geneticist Pardo-Manuel de Villena was a pioneer in utilizing the results of the NIEHS Mouse Genome Resequencing and SNP Discovery Project. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

"Staff from NIEHS participates ..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Communications team recognized for ..."
March 2012 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top