Skip Navigation

Environmental Factor

October 2011

Your Online Source for NIEHS News

Increase text size Decrease text size

NIEHS honors staff for years of service

By Ian Thomas
October 2011

NIEHS/NTP Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D.

In her opening remarks, Birnbaum praised awardees for commitment to service and dependability as public servants. (Photo courtesy of Jennifer Weinberg)

NIEHS held its annual Years of Service Awards ceremony Sept. 6 in Rodbell Auditorium. Hosted by NIEHS/NTP Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., the gathering recognized 40 Institute employees, commemorating career milestones of 10, 20, 30, and 40 years of federal service.

“As government employees, we all know that, first and foremost, our top responsibility is to serve the American people,” said Birnbaum. “Here at NIEHS, that means maintaining a strong commitment to funding and supporting groundbreaking research. This requires a lot of hard work and dedication. But beyond the hours, it requires a very unique type of individual.”

Assisted by NIEHS Deputy Director Richard Woychik, Ph.D., Birnbaum presented each honoree with a framed certificate and a big congratulatory handshake, all captured by a photograph. At the conclusion of the ceremony, the awardees were joined by their peers, as well as several members of NIEHS leadership, for a cake and ice cream reception in the main lobby of the Rall building.

Employees and their milestones

10 Years:

20 Years:

30 Years:

  • Danica Andrews
  • David Balshaw
  • Jeannie Bell-Nichols
  • Dianne Gray
  • Edward Kang
  • Huei-Chen Lao
  • Fred Lih
  • Jacqueline Marzec
  • Michelle Mayo
  • Geoffrey Mueller
  • Srikanth Nadadur
  • Charles Romeo
  • Valarie Sims
  • William Steinmetz
  • Xianhong Yu
  • Kathy Ahlmark
  • Gary Bird
  • Paula Brown
  • Matthew Burr
  • Joyce Daye
  • Carolyn Hall
  • Ronald Herbert
  • Robin Jones
  • Alicia Moore
  • Sheila Newton
  • Elizabeth Ney
  • Robert Sills
  • Kent Stone
  • Thai-Vu Ton
  • Frederick Tyson
  • Francisca Wagstaff
  • Richard Weaver
  • Robert Wine
  • Pamela Clark
  • Laura Hall
  • William Quattlebaum
  • Velvet Torain
  • Betty Wilkins

40 Years:

  • Thomas Eling
  • Amy Johnson

(Ian Thomas is a public affairs specialist in the NIEHS Office of Communications and Public Liaison.)

NIEHS/NTP Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., and Ed Kang

Birnbaum presents a plaque, for his decade of service, to Public Affairs Specialist Ed Kang. (Photo courtesy of Jennifer Weinberg)

Gary Bird, Ph.D., and Charles 'Chip' Romeo, Ph.D

Staff scientists Gary Bird, Ph.D., left, a 20-year veteran, and Charles 'Chip' Romeo, Ph.D., who celebrated a decade in government service, enjoyed some banter, as they prepared to get their refreshments. (Photo courtesy of Jennifer Weinberg)

NIEHS Chief of Staff Paul Jung, M.D.

NIEHS Chief of Staff Paul Jung, M.D., served cake to employees, during the reception that followed the awards ceremony (Photo courtesy of Jennifer Weinberg)

"Intramural papers of the..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Return to Index..."
October 2011 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top