Skip Navigation
Return to NIEHS | Current Issue
Increase text size Decrease text size

NIEHS Staff win 2005 Secretary's Award for Distinguished Service

July 2006

Sixteen members of the NIEHS family were presented with the Health and Human Service' Secretary's Award for Distinguished Service as part of a group award "for dedicated support to the health and safety of victims of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita along the Gulf Coast." The NIEHS recipients were: Samuel Arbes, Beth Anderson, Gwen Collman, Allen Dearry, Diane Forsythe, Richard Freed, Mary Grant, Joseph Hughes, Angie Sanders, Stella Sieber, William Stokes, William Suk, Claudia Thompson, Brenda Weis, Samuel Wilson, and Mary Wolfe. The award ceremony was held at the Department's headquarters in the Hubert H. Humphrey building in Washington, D.C. on June 29. David Schwartz, NIEHS director, nominated the group for their efforts in a host of activities including setting up a field hospital in Mississippi, creating a geographic information service to assess exposure and infrastructure damage and assist with emergency response and cleanup, providing veterinary care for displaced animals, serving as members of public health teams for environmental health assessments, and many others. Congratulations to all the awardees.

"Shirley Isenhour Retires after..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Former Pathology Intern Thanks..."
July 2006 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top